Istanbul Yoghurt Treat

IMG_0465

There was always yoghurt, tahini and honeycomb, amongst many other things, in our hotel in Istanbul for breakfast. One morning, I had an idea to combine them, and so I did. It was delicious! I loved it, and had it with my breakfast every day while we were there.

IMG_0487

I am not claiming this is an authentic Istanbuli treat. I have no idea, and so I wouldn’t even try. But I do know it’s absolutely delicious. Do try it! The bitterness of tahini added interest and nuttiness to sweet honeycomb, which in turn provided an interesting texture to nibble on. All this enveloped in delicious creamy, Turkish yoghurt.

IMG_0493-1

It really makes a stunning treat. At home, I use honey, as I don’t usually have honeycomb, but it’s still delicious. Just take a bowl of yoghurt and swirl some honey and tahini over it, and there you go!

IMG_0490

IMG_0481-1

4 thoughts on “Istanbul Yoghurt Treat

  1. Otkrila sam sličnu kombinaciju u Grčkoj, tamo sam obavezno jela jogurt i med za doručak. Tahini mi je tu novost ali je definitivno nešto što ću isprobati. :)

    P.S.
    Drago mi je da opet postaš. :)

  2. This is close to what we call debess wtahini in Lebanon, which is mixed tahini and carob molasses; when the two are combined, the taste is similar to butterscotch; mixing yogurt is wonderful…I have been wanting to make a parfait with this, but the yogurt is a lot easier!

Leave a Reply

