Sourdough pancakes with rose petal jam and clotted cream

Birthday pancakes: sourdough pancakes with rose petal jam and clotted cream

When I’m really lucky, normally at the weekend or during holidays, my husband makes me pancakes for breakfast. It’s my favourite special breakfast treat. I sit at our breakfast bar watching him work, and savouring the warm pancakes as they come out of the pan. My favourite fillings are nutella and various jams, while he likes the traditional English lemon and sugar.

It’s my birthday and I have a day off to do whatever I want, and it feels great. Luxurious. A day like this befits a special breakfast, so I combine two things that I’ve been wanting to try for ages: sourdough pancakes, and rose petal jam with clotted cream. The recipe for the pancakes has been adapted from the Herbert brothers in the Guardian using my wholemeal rye sourdough starter, and the rose petal jam and clotted cream inspiration comes via Claudia Roden’s fantastic Arabesque. The rose petal jam was bought in Istanbul, and has a slightly gummy and addictive texture, and a fragrant rose aroma combined with a touch of sourness. It’s sweet, but not overly so, and perfect for the slight tang of the rye starter. The pancakes turned out to well that I had to make a note of what I did and share them!

These pancakes are a perfect way to use up sourdough starter. I hate throwing things away, it’s against my religion, and since I produce a lot more sourdough starter than I use in bread-making, I’ve been looking for ways to using it up. Dangerously quick to make, these would be manageable for a weekday treat, too!

Birthday pancakes: sourdough pancakes with rose petal jam and clotted cream

Sourdough pancakes with rose petal jam and clotted cream

Feeds 2 for breakfast

PANCAKES:

1 large egg

170 ml milk

120 g wholemeal rye sourdough starter

100 g self-raising flour

1 tbsp unrefined caster sugar

a pinch of salt

30 g butter

TOPPING:

Turkish rose petal jam

Clotted cream

Break the egg into into a medium large bowl and whisk to break down. Add 170ml whole milk and 120ml sourdough starter, a pinch of salt and the sugar, and whisk again. Add 100g plain white flour and whisk all together.  Melt a the butter in a frying pan, and then add to the pancake batter and whisk to combine.

Warm up the pan again on medium heat, take a large spoonful of pancake batter and drop into the pan. I cooked about 3 8 cm wide pancakes in a 25 cm pan, but you may be able to fit more, or less. Cook the pancakes until the bubbles appear on top. Now flip them over and cook for a minute or so until done on the other side. Repeat until all the batter is used up. Cover the cooked pancakes while you’re preparing the rest so that they’re kept warm, or eat straight out of the pan!

Dab a teaspoon of the rose petal jam on each pancake, and about 1/2 tsp of clotted cream on top. Sit back and enjoy with a cup of coffee.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Sanjana redy

     /  16 December, 2013

    Nice recipe and pancakes with rose petals jam is interesting will try it for my hubby tonight. Thanks for sharing.
    FoodsNearMe

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment