The Sorceress of Spices – Panch Phoron

Panch Phoron

The recipe for this interesting spice mix comes from Sandeepa, who calls it The Sorceress of Spices. Read Barbara’s lyrical post about it!

Panch Phoron is a classical Bengali spice mix used in tempering. It’s added to the hot oil before other ingredients, to flavour the oil. I used it in a very simple potato, carrot and runner beans curry.

__________________________________________________

IMG_7774

Panch Phoron

 

SOURCE: Sandeepa

PREPARATION TIME: 2 min

CUISINE: Indian, Bengali

INGREDIENTS:  

Fenugreek seeds

Nigella seeds (Kalonji)

Mustard Seeds – black or brown

Cumin seeds

Fennel seeds

method

Mix together equal amounts of the seeds and store in an airtight container.

IMG_7781

__________________________________________________

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

del.icio.us Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. That s a beautiful spice mix. I myself make one just like that. I love the color combo,… aand of course it tastes great. What s a runner beans curry? I d love to get a recipe for tht. Sounds funny.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Maninas

     /  14 October, 2007

    Runner beans curry? yes, it does sound like a hillarious word combination, doesn’t it? now that you say it 🙂
    As for the recipe, I improvised… I’ll try and remember what I did. I think I may have a photo of it, too.

    Like

    Reply
  3. why is kalonji called nigella seeds ???

    Like

    Reply
    • arindam gupta

       /  29 May, 2012

      Kalonji comes from “kalo jeera” which means black cummin and nigella seeds means small black seeds

      Like

      Reply
  4. Maninas

     /  15 October, 2007

    Nigella sativa is the Latin name of kalonji. I guess this is where this comes from.

    Like

    Reply
  1. RCI: Cuisine of Bihar « Maninas: Food Matters
  2. RCI: Bengali Red Dal « Maninas: Food Matters
  3. Punjabi green lentil dhal – incredibly easy and incredibly tasty « Maninas: Food Matters
  4. Honey-roasted parsnips with red onion, panch phoron, chilli, garlic and parsley | Maninas: Food Matters

Leave a comment