In and Out of Blogging

Vine leaves

Sapanca walnuts

In an Istanbul traffic jam, half a fig passes hands. Plump and purple, glistening in the afternoon sun. A smile radiates a man’s face. His pleasure warms my heart.

The fig was a gift from a generous vendor at a wonderful weekly market in Sapanca in Turkey where we’d just finished a week’s workshop on food and photography. The man was a fellow participant at the workshop. I’ve taken a lot from the trip, and not just in the kilos of pepper flakes and helva in my suitcase! More about the helva as well as about what I’ve learnt will come in another post. For I am back to blogging.

It was the 10th of the 10th, a momentous number in the calendar symmetries (to my inner synesthetic). By coincidence though, it is the day I decided the go back to blogging. It’s been a while since I blogged. I stopped I don’t even know how. Life took over. A career spent in front of a computer proved little conducive to blogging. I did not stop cooking and exploring food though. I still eat seasonally, and love learning about different cuisines and food cultures. I still love that exploration, discovery and experimentation, and I want to share this.

I deliberated for a while whether to come back or not:

Assam laksa in Kuala Lumpur

  • No time to write. – I’ll make time. Once or twice a month will be manageable. This was the biggie though. I hope I can make it.
  • I’m not happy with my food photos.I’ve already done something about this, and, knowing I needed it as well as wanted it, attended a great food and photography workshop in Turkey. I got back feeling inspired. Inspired to learn more about Turkish cooking and take more food photos, and to revive this blog.
  • When it feels there’s too much to write, falling behind, lagging behind, feels awfully daunting. – I’ll be selective, very selective. Write less, and enjoy the writing, and what I write about.

Wish me luck.

Vietnamese iced coffee 1

To celebrate my return, I present you with two flavourful vegetable salads that go really well together. One strongly flavoured and purple, the other green and light, they are inspired by the beetroot, zaahtar and yoghurt dip from Ottolenghi and Tamimi’s “Jerusalem”, and by my travels in Turkey this summer. You wouldn’t think that pairing sweet roasted beetroot and date molasses would work, but it definitely does. The molasses intensifies and deepens the sweet beetroot flavours, and making the salad taste intensely savoury. Zaahtar adds herby and nutty flavours, and parsley and sharp feta elevate it all. The lemony light leeks make for a perfect balancing partner to this sweet & savoury fireworks on a plate. Enjoy.

Beetroot and feta salad

Roasted beetroot and feta salad

1 bunch of beetroot (about 1 kg),

Olive oil

Salt

1 tsp zaahtar

2 tsp date molasses

½ tsp hot Turkish pul biber (or chilli flakes)

100 g feta cheese, crumbled into 2 cm chunks

2 tsp chopped parsley (approx.)

Salt + pepper

Preheat the oven to 200 C.

Prepare the beetroot: peel and cut into 6ths, and then cut these half-moons in half. Toss with olive oil and salt, and bake for about 60 min, or until the beetroot is cooked and soft.

Once the beetroot is done, leave it to cool a little. Chop the feta and parsley, leaving a little aside for garnish.

Add the zaahtar, date molasses, pul biber, feta and parsley to the beetroot and stir. Add salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle with the remaining feta and parsley before serving.

Simple lemony leeks

3 medium leeks

Salt

1 tsp lemon juice

1/2 tbsp light-tasting extra virgin olive oil

Prepare the leeks: trim the rough green edges, and remove the outer layers. Cut into 10 cm segments.

Put the leeks in a pan and add water and a pinch of salt. Bring to boil, then lower the heat to medium low and cook for about 10 min until the leeks are tender. Take care not to overcook the leeks.

When the leeks are done, arrange them on a plate, squeeze a little lemon juice over them, and drizzle with olive oil. Sprinkle with a little sea salt.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Andrew Hall

     /  16 October, 2013

    Hey hey – well I have just posted on my blog about getting back into it too! It must be something like a Bloggers Flu that affects us all from time to time :o)

    I promise to keep checking in, cheers, Roo

    Like

    Reply
    • Hahaha bloggers’ flu! Love that. Unfortunately I also landed with a real lergy, hey ho!
      A warm welcome back to you, too.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Wow, Ana! It’s exciting to see you’ve re-started blogging. Please, keep your strict inner critic quiet (mine owes me so many unwritten posts and unshared photos) so we can hear from you more often and see more of your beautiful photographs! Adding you to my reading list and hoping for the frequent updates!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Welcome back!! I will wish you luck in continuing to blog and hope that you will – your posts offer so much. The photo of the walnuts is a knock out by the way!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Nice to see that you are back! xx

    Like

    Reply
  1. 2013 in my Kitchen: Bread & Turkey | Maninas: Food Matters
  2. Delicious notes from Istanbul | Maninas: Food Matters
  3. Burek: stories from Croatia, Turkey, and my England kitchen | Maninas: Food Matters

Leave a Reply

