Delicious Cornwall

I’ve been meaning to tell you about our fantastic trip to Cornwall for ages. I knew I’d like it in Cornwall, but I didn’t quite expect how much I’d love it, how it would woo me. As they say, love comes in through the stomach. Here are a few things we loved in Cornwall.

 

1) Excellent restaurants

Some Cornwall’s restaurants we’ve eaten in deserve a special post. And my special thanks go to the chefs and staff of The Wave in St. Ives, and of the Gurnard’s Head, near Zennor, for their creative and mouthwatering food! In particular, the staff at the Gurnard’s Head deserve special mention because of their friendliness and informativeness.

We simply didn’t have enough days and nights to try everywhere we wanted to try, so we said good-bye to Cornwall with a list of restaurants to try when we come back next. I can’t wait! 

The Wave, St Ives

 

2) The best fish and chips in the world

I can safely say I’ve had the best fish and chips in the world now.

IMG_9090

The Jewell Chippie in Newlyn sells the most amazing, freshly caught, freshly cooked fish and chips, with daily specials that include lemon sole and scallops. We’ve had one (massive) portion of freshly cooked lemon sole that was just out of this world. Firstly, the fish was freshly caught (the chippie is just behind the harbour, and they buy fresh fish every day). Secondly, it was freshly cooked. Thirdly, and importantly, it was really very well cooked. Just right. Moist and tasty. Non-greasy. Also, it was served by very friendly staff, and incredibly cheap. I give it my vote for the best chippie in the world! This really was something special.

IMG_9094

Funnily, we ate our bounty sitting on a wall in a car park opposite the harbour, but boy what a view we had!

IMG_9092

3) The best cream tea I’ve ever had

The whole of Cornwall is famous for its cream tea, with gorgeous Rodda’s Clotted Cream. In The Kitchen, Polperro, I’ve had the best cream tea ever, with beautiful scones and delicious local strawberry jam.

IMG_9147

IMG_9169

IMG_9372

 

4) Fantastic ice-creams

What is a summer without ice-cream? I’m delighted to report that we found excellent ice-cream everywhere in Cornwall, but were particularly impressed by Moomaid ice-cream from Zennor. 

IMG_9428   IMG_8986

5) Beers, pasties, etc.

Cornish are proud of their food, and rightly so. They have excellent seafood, and some really very good local produce (try the Cornish blueberries when in season!). We had some stunning local beers in Cornwall. The Cornish Blonde (note, this is not the same as the Celtic Blonde) is a blond beer, with summery notes of heather and hay – one of the best beers I’ve ever had.

You simply cannot go to Cornwall without trying the famous Cornish Pasty. The Philps pasties from Hayle are especially good.

Invite for the pasties

Yes, we will definitely return to Cornwall. I miss it already.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. What great finds–all very authentic regional English food. The pictures and descriptions are making me hungry (especially the perfectly fried fish and chips)!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Glad you had a good time. I perhaps don’t always appreciate how lucky I am to live in Cornwall!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Thanks, ladies! Wait until I start talking about the Cornish scenery, which is truly majestic!

    BETH, you really are lucky to live in Cornwall.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I’ve always wanted to go, but now even more so!

    Like

    Reply
  5. I do love Cornwall, and that ice cream looks so delicious!

    Like

    Reply
  6. This is one fatty food treat! Looks amazing. I can’t wait to make a trip down there.

    Like

    Reply
  7. My father is Cornish and this was like a blast fromt he past! I spent so many childhood holidays there and I know all the places you mention very well. The fish and chips are the best aren’t they? Everyone eats them in the car park by the way, it’s the done thing – just watch out for the gulls!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Thanks for the Cornwall recommendations. I’ll check them out next week when we’re there.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

