Confessions: I’ve been heading this way

I stole to cook.

I was only about 4 or 5. And I had an accomplice. She was a friend and a relative and we used to play together when she was staying with her grandmother who lived near us.

On this particular day, we had a full-blown baking operation in my friend’s grandma’s garden. We were making a very special birthday cake for my younger brother, using eggs, sugar, – soil, and – paprika, to decorate our ‘cakes’, of course! We got the ingredients from our grandmothers, except that they didn’t know about that. You see, we sneaked into my gran’s konoba (wine cellar also used to store food) first, and gradually emptied the big shoe box where she stored her eggs! Then, when we ‘used up’ those, we moved on to my friend’s grandma’s chickens and ransacked their nests, all in search for even more eggs! Unknown to her, sugar and paprika were also donated by the same kind old lady.

We were busy baking and decorating the whole morning, and who knows how long that would have gone on if he hadn’t been betrayed by my little brother with a better developed sense of morality.

And the recipe? Sorry, I forgot.

*   *   *

So there you go. You can see I’ve been heading this in this direction since my early days.

This month, my blog turned one: it’s been a little more than a year since my first greeting to the blogosphere, and my first post on human food. 133 posts later, I’ve moved a long way from those early days, I’ve learnt a lot, and met a lot of wonderful people through their blogs.  I THANK you all – it’s been a great pleasure to be with you!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Happy Anniversary! And well done – it takes a lot of work and effort to keep a blog going. It has been wonderful “meeting” you and sharing the “Food Matters” connection. Best wishes for the year ahead.

    Like

    Reply
  2. wowy… congrats .. what a feeling it must b that its a yr and u r liked by so many

    Like

    Reply
  3. congrats on completing a yr,..nice post…

    Like

    Reply
  4. wish you many more years of blogging. i enjoy your site.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Happy Bloggerversary!

    Like

    Reply
  6. congrats for your 1st anniversary…..hope there are many more to come

    Like

    Reply
  7. Happy blog birthday to you!! Looking forward to many more!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Happy bloggiversary….

    Like

    Reply
  9. Thank you all!🙂 It’s good to be one!😀

    Like

    Reply
  10. Too bad you don’t have a pic of that first effort. I, for one, would love to see the result of all those eggs… And what did Granny say????
    Happy Blogiversary!

    Like

    Reply
  11. hahahaa I’m sorry, too! I guess I should try to make one for you then!😀

    Neither of our Grannies were too impressed with us. We got into soooo much trouble…. We ruined at least 30 eggs here, you see. Or more. How many eggs can you get into a shoe box? and more than that!

    Like

    Reply
  12. I’m late…decided to goof off on a workday and catch up on my fave blogs…
    Happy Birthday!😀 To many more…It’s been a great pleasure too!

    Like

    Reply
  13. Dear Anita, thank you very much for your warm birthday wishes. It has certainly been a pleasure for me, too!

    Like

    Reply
  1. Birthdays and presents – Maninas turns 3! « Maninas: Food Matters

Leave a Reply

