Christmas Dinner & Lessons Learnt

IMG_8203-3

Happy New Year, everyone! Thank you for all your comments while I was away. I will answer them soon!

Also, I hope you had a wonderful holidays, and that you’re sufficiently recovered from the aforementioned festivities!

We got back home yesterday, having spent Christmas with family and friends on the Wirral. (I’ll post some photos son!) We had a wonderful relaxing Christmas day, spent with family, with laughter, board games, presents, and, of course, good food! Speaking of food, there are a few thoughts I have to share with you. I helped my mother-in-law cook Christmas dinner, which was very instructive and very funny at times! See below and you’ll know what I mean. Here are a few invaluable lessons I learnt along the way:

 

Christmas Dinner & Lessons Learnt

 

1) Make sure the turkey has legs!!!

If you want turkey legs, make sure you buy a turkey with legs!

We failed on that! Oooops!!

2) No.

Don’t go to your room and spend the rest of the day weeping in bed. Remember, all over the country the people are panicking quietly. Some more quietly than others.

3) Make yourself a large whiskey and proceed with the cooking.

No.

Stop!

Don’t start drinking until everything’s on the table! – This is the voice of experience speaking, i.e. the mother-in-law.

4) No, really, don’t.

5) Now bravely proceed with the cooking.

 

I think this sums up the most important lessons. Ah, yes, of course; don’t rinse out that pan that happens to contain your gravy stock. But we learnt this last year. Next year, we may buy some spare turkey legs, just in case, and for all those family members who missed them this year!

IMG_8207-1

Our Christmas dinner was traditional, and delicious. It is my husbands favourite meal of the year. Roast turkey with sausage meat and covered in bacon, sage and onion stuffing, cranberry jelly, potatoes roast in duck fat, carrots, peas, brussel sprouts (not for me!), pigs in blankets (sausages wrapped in bacon), devils on horseback (prunes wrapped in bacon), real gravy. Yum!!!! You can see why!

Christmas dinner

_____________________________________________________

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Sve najbolje i tebi!
    vidis, covik uci dok je ziv!

    Ja sam bozic provela u Splitu prezderavajuci se pasticadom. Di’s bolje?!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Hvala, draga!
    Pasticada zvuci suuuper! Znas sto nam sad triba? Pa, jedan receptic, naravno!πŸ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
  3. hope you had a great X’mas and wish you a happy and healthy 2008!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Hiya! Glad you survived Christmas! hehhee. These are the memories that will carry on for generations to come. Legless turkeys. haha.

    Happy 2008!!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Just an update which I know about RCI.

    For January: RCI-Kerala is already announced.

    Here is the link:

    http://currybazaar.blogspot.com/2007/12/announcing-rci-cuisine-of-kerala.html

    take care and cya!

    ~ Siri

    Like

    Reply
  6. agent0068

     /  5 January, 2008

    Sounds successful and delicious, although not sure I agree with lesson learned #3.πŸ˜‰ Happy 08

    Like

    Reply
  7. Sounds like a fabulous meal. I hope that you had a great start to the year.

    Like

    Reply
  8. MANSI, I had a wonderful Christmas! Thank you for your kind wishes. Happy New Year to you, too!

    LYRICAL LEMONGRASS, yes legless turkey! Better that than a legless cook! This is from the point of view of the guests at the dinner, of course!πŸ˜€ & Happy New Year to you! Hug!

    SIRI, thank you very much for the information. I updated my page now. I was going to make a Kashmiri dish anyway, as well as a Kerala dish.

    AGENT 0068, it was! But it might not have been if we’d disregarded lesson no. 3!πŸ™‚ Slightly dangerous, as well, handling a massive roast turkey drunk – I can see burning fat splashing around, and hear myself screaming! Spoil sport, you might say!πŸ˜‰

    NORA, thank you! Likewise!

    Like

    Reply
  9. I did not know you could get a turkey with no legs! I have purchased a turkey breast before, but other than that they have been all there. Was there a freak accident at the poultry factory?
    I am glad it turned out well for you despite the missing legs.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

