Zagreb & its inhabitants

Tin Ujevic 

Tin Ujevic

Some people don’t like Zagreb. They find it too busy, too big. I love it precisely for its buzz, and also because of 1000 little details one can discover just by walking around. One of the things that I like about Zagreb are the statues of its inhabitants scattered around the city, capturing them in a moment of everyday life. Tin Ujevic, one of Croatia’s best-loved poets, is captured walking near his favourite cafe’, while Marija Juric Zagorka, one of the first female journalist and the author of many historical novels, is taking a stroll around Gornji Grad (the Upper Town). You will also see Antun Gustav Matos, another poet, sitting on a bench in Gornji Grad (the Upper Town), and August Senoa, the novelist, resting against a post near the main square.

Marija Juric Zagorka

Marija Juric Zagorka

________________________________________

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , ,  

del.icio.us Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Sounds wonderful! Croatia is somewhere I’d absolutely LOVE to visit. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. nice post. I’m born and raised in Split, and now living in Zagreb. You know how different are those two cities. I love them both! I enjoy living in Zagreb. It is great city. And, as you nicely noticed, it is full of hidden details that is such a fun to discover!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Maninas

     /  12 October, 2007

    WENDY, oh you should definitely go! and when you do, send me an email and i’ll give you some tips!🙂 i’ll be very happy to answer any questions i can

    Like

    Reply
  4. Maninas

     /  12 October, 2007

    FRESH ADRIATIC FISH, thanks! I love both of those cities, too, and I love going back to them, rediscovering them! I shall post some photos of Split soon. We had a fantastic time there. Thanks for the restaurant recommendations!

    Like

    Reply
  5. I loved reading this post. I was in Croatia a few months ago but we never made it to Zagreb. We travelled up the coast from Dubrovnik to Pula via Split with a stop in Bosnia too. I thought it was the most beautiful country but regret not having time for Zagreb. You’ve given me a good reason to go back.!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Maninas

     /  13 October, 2007

    Hi Truffle! Glad you enjoyed it!

    I’ll be posting my Split photos soon. I saw yours, too. It’s always interesting for me to see familiar places with other people’s eyes.🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

