Fragrant and Aromatic Salmon Soup with Noodles

I didn’t mean to post anything tonight, but I’ve just made something lovely! I love it when something you’ve sort of put together as you went along turns out to be delicious. The only thing I knew was that I wanted to use up my salmon, green beans and coconut milk. I started cooking without a defined idea in my mind, and without a recipe. Therefore, the list of ingredients is rather haphazard, as it involved a lot of tasting and adjusting. You will recognise South-East Asian and Indian influences. The result was a rather soupy, aromatic sauce, that went really well with the noodles, and tasted delicious! Bf and I both loved it! It was pleasantly hot, as far as we are concerned, but if you prefer milder food, reduce the amount of chilies. Again, there is no photo, but there will definitely be one next time. Yes, I will make this again!

______________________________________________________________________

Fragrant and aromatic salmon soup with noodles

 

SOURCE: Momentary inspiration + Asian influences

PREPARATION TIME: about 10 min

COOKING TIME: 20 – 30 min

SERVES: 2 – 3

 

INGREDIENTS:

1 onion, chopped

1 inch ginger, chopped into small pieces

4 finger green chilies, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, chopped

12 fenugreek seeds

100 g green beans, halved

3 blades of lemongrass, cut into 3-cm pieces and crushed slightly

200 ml coconut milk

kaffir lime leaves

2 – 3 tbsp fish sauce

2 tbsp lime juice

a dash each of turmeric, cumin, ground ginger and ground coriander

1/2 tbsp chicken stock

water as necessary

1/2 green pepper (we  used 2 pimientos de padron)

250 g salmon, cut into bite-sized pieces

fresh coriander leaves for garnishing

egg noodles

METHOD

1. Fry the onions, ginger, chilies and garlic until golden. Halfway through, add the fenugreek seeds.

2. Add green beans and saute for a minute or two.

3. Add coconut milk and the rest of the ingredients, apart from the raw fish. Adjust amounts according to taste.

4. Now add the salmon, and cook until tender.

5. Meanwhile, cook the noodles.

6. When the noodles are done, and the salmon is tender, put the noodles into bowls, and ladle the soup over the noodles. Garnish with coriander and serve. Enjoy!

______________________________________________________________________

Verdict

Delicious, very fragrant and aromatic! I will definitely make this again!

It takes no time to cook, too! Next time, when I’m more certain of what I’m doing, it will take me even less!

______________________________________________________________________

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , ,

del.icio.us Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Recipe made my mouth water. Must try this sometime. Sounds perfct for a weekday supper!

    Like

    Reply
  2. This sounds amazing. I love trying new things with salmon. I’ll need to head out to the Asian food store with a grocery list :)!

    Like

    Reply
  3. VERY similar to my thai green curry – you were right!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Maninas

     /  18 July, 2007

    Mallika & Muse in the Kitchen,
    Thanks! Try it and let me know how it went. But please remember to taste & tweak the amounts according to your tastes.🙂

    Wendy,
    I was quite surprised to see your recipe, and realise that actually it is very similar in terms of ingredients. Especially because there seems to be something in Thai green curry paste that doesn’t quite agree with me… It gives me an almost metalic taste in my mouth… It’s difficult to describe, and wierd! I seem to get it from red curry, too. This happened in Thai restaurants, and when my friend made it, using shop-bought curry paste. I haven’t tried making my own curry paste though. It’s worth a go, and also, I enjoy making things from scratch.🙂 Partly because I’m like that, and partly because I know what’s inside, so I can control the amount of fat (where applicable), and I know there are no preservatives inside!

    Like

    Reply
  5. sara

     /  11 February, 2010

    I just discovered this recipe today, and I made it for dinner tonight! My husband and I were both very impressed, and the mixture of flavors really compliment each other. I also added tofu and served it over rice – it was delicious! Thank you so much for the inspiration!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Hello Sara! I’m so pleased you liked it! Tofu sound like a great addition. In fact, you’ve reminded me to make this soon, too!

    Like

    Reply
  1. Tuna with a Twist « Maninas: Food Matters
  2. Kerala-style Coconut & Vegetable Curry « Maninas: Food Matters
  3. The best carrot soup ever! « Maninas: Food Matters
  4. Celeriac soup « Maninas: Food Matters
  5. Spiced carrot and caramelised onions soup « Maninas: Food Matters

Leave a Reply

