Nigella’s Chocolate Cherry Cupcakes

IMG_4732 

 Does this photo look familiar? Look up – up – to the header! Yes, these are the cupcakes from the header!🙂 Let me introduce you to Nigella’s delicious Chocolate Cherry Cupcakes!

This was the first thing I made to post in this blog, the first photos I took for the purpose of posting them, but somehow, I haven’t done it until now! I really don’t know why,  because I enjoyed making them immensely, as well as taking photos! Decorated with white icing, and red glace cherries, the dark brown chocolate muffins were simply beautiful, that I simply felt… happy while I was decorating and photographing them! It was a great experience.

_________________________________

 

Chocolate Cherry Cupcakes

SOURCE: Nigella Lawson

PREPARATION TIME: Less than 10 min

COOKING TIME: 25 min (+ 10 min cooling time)

MAKES: 12 cupcakes

 

INGREDIENTS

For the cupcakes:

125g soft unsalted butter
100g dark chocolate, broken into pieces
300g morello cherry jam
150g caster sugar
pinch of salt
2 large eggs, beaten
150g self-raising flour
12-bun muffin tin and papers

For the icing:


100g dark chocolate
100ml double cream
12 natural-coloured glace cherries

 

METHOD:

 

1. Preheat the oven to 180 C/gas mark 4.

Beautiful melted chocolate

2. Put the butter in a heavy-bottomed pan on the heat to melt. When nearly completely melted, stir in the chocolate. Leave for a moment to begin softening, then take the pan off the heat and stir with a wooden spoon until the butter and chocolate are smooth and melted. (I simply melted the chocolate in the microwave, and then added butter to it.)

Here are the cherries!

3. Now add the cherry jam, sugar, salt and eggs. Stir with a wooden spoon and when all is pretty well amalgamated stir in the sifted flour. (I used a metal spoon, as you can see!)

 

IMG_4585 


4. Scrape and pour into the muffin papers in their tin and bake for 25 minutes.

IMG_4578

IMG_4580

IMG_4591

5. Cool in the pan on a rack for 10 minutes before turning out.

 

IMG_4611

6. When the cupcakes are cool, break the chocolate for the icing into little pieces and add them to the cream in a saucepan. Bring to the boil, remove from the heat and then whisk – by hand or electrically – till thick and smooth. Ice the cupcakes, smoothing the tops with the back of a spoon, and stand a cherry in the centre of each. Enjoy!

 

IMG_4654

 

NOTE: As you can see in the above picture, I didn’t follow Nigella’s advice when it came to the icing. I simply made a thick paste of icing sugar and water, spread it on my muffins, and put a glace cherry on top! 

 

IMG_4660 

_________________________________

 

IMG_4676 Verdict:

The cupcakes are fun and easy to make, and cherries and chocolate are always a winning combination! Delicious! Just make sure to use good quality chocolate, and good cherry jam. Choose a jam with high cherry content, compared to sugar, to achieve delicious cherry flavour!  

 

Suggestions or distractions:

Why not put in a splash of your favourite cherry brandy/kirsch or any other liquor, and serve it to your favourite adult?😉 Come on, you know you want to!

 

_________________________________

I am submitting this to Muffin Monday at Preserveless. The task was to include a matching drink. I had hot chocolate and coffee with mines, but didn’t take a photo of the drink, because the muffins were made before this challenge was set. Sorry guys!

[Muffin Monday Round Up.jpg]

_________________________________

Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

del.icio.us Tags: , , , , , ,

IMG_4650

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Hi Maninas, thank you so much for your entry. They look so cute! I bet my daughter would love the cherry on top, so I guess I will just have to try these : )

    Like

    Reply
  2. Maninas

     /  11 July, 2007

    Enjoy!🙂
    Thanks for the nice round-up!

    Like

    Reply
  3. I’ve made those too – absolutely delicious! I really love the chunks of cherries in the chocolate muffin dough. Mmmmm….

    Like

    Reply
  4. Maninas

     /  10 August, 2007

    i know! I like your icing, and the easter egg on top!🙂

    cherries + chocolate – can’t go wrong there!🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. Love the directions for the recipe with the pictures, too cool!

    Like

    Reply
  6. WOW! I really have wished this yummy Chocolate Cherry Cupcake when I was a little girl. I really searched almost all the bakeries and I have bought or I tasted all the cupcakes. But then I have tasted the Chocolate Cherry Cupcake, I really like to find the Ingredients! Now I have found it I would bake all by myself and I will not buy any cupcakes but only this…^_^ thnx for the ingredients you shared to us ^_^

    Like

    Reply
  7. fai

     /  26 August, 2009

    hey! the cupcakes is delicious! But one thing though, every time I bake this, the top of the cupcakes crack. It is almost like a muffin. Is there any way I can avoid this?

    Like

    Reply
  1. BEST OF 2007 at Maninas: Food Matters « Maninas: Food Matters
  2. Most popular posts after three years « Maninas: Food Matters

Leave a Reply

