No-Knead Bread!

I’ve seen the recipe for a no knead bread in the blogosphere before, and was completely lured by the beautiful crispy golden crust of the bread! When I saw a picture of it on Wandering Chopstics blog, I simply couldn’t resist! I have a confession to make: as I’m writing this, the dough is rising in my kitchen, gently covered with a red tea towel! ! I’ve just started the process!🙂 Can’t wait to see the results! OK, I have another confession to make: This is the first time I’ve made my own bread! My mum makes fantastic bread, so I’ll have to get the recipe of her, too!

The bf adores crusty bread, and he is coming back home from a trip tomorrow, so the bread will be a nice surprise for him! Many thanks to Wandering Chopstics for a wonderful post! Her photos are really useful and helpful, because they show all the stages very clearly. I am reproducing the recipe here, simply as a memento for myself, because this blog is turning more and more into my recipe file! The only change I’ve made was to use half wholemeal and half white flour.

I don’t have a camera now, so there will be no pictures, (though maybe tomorrow), but as I said, Wondering Chopstics has fantastic pictures featuring every stage in the bread-making process! Do check them out! Another version of the recipe can be found here, and another fantastic photo here.

This time I’m not converting cups in metrics, because I’ve got a little nifty measuring jug that I used. This is how it came into my possession, and became a treasured item! I used to ask a one of my friends who is a great cook for her recipes all the time. However, she learnt to cook when she was studying in the US, so most of her recipes are measured in cups. Being Croatian, that was a hitherto unknown concept to me, which called for lots of maths! Not ideal, is it? So, one day, my poor harassed friend showed up with a pretty little jug she ordered especially from America for me! She now leads a peaceful and happy life, while I play with my new toy! So, this smart move on her part has been very useful for both of us!

Here’s the recipe, and here’s the verdict!

  

Easy No-Knead Bread

SOURCE: adapted from Wandering Chopstics , a recipe by Mark Bitman , of The New York Times (8 Nov 2006)

PREPARATION TIME: 5 min, plus at least 12 hours for rising (ideally 18)

COOKING TIME: 45 min 

Ingredients: 

 3 cups bread flour or all-purpose flour (For wholemeal bread, 1 1/2 cups white, 1 1/2 cup wholemeal.)
1 1/2 cup hot water
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp of yeast, the kind sold in packets and jars

Method:

1. Put the water into the mixing bowl and 1/4 tsp yeast and 1 tsp sugar. Mix to activate the yeast. Add 1 tsp salt (more if you want a saltier bread) and flour. Mix thoroughly but quickly. You’ll get a sticky, lumpy dough.

2. Cover with plastic wrap and a thick towel and leave it to rise in a warm place for at least 12 hours, ideally 18 or more. Just do it the night before and let it rise while you’re asleep and at work the next day. The dough should double in size, with lots of bubbles.

3. Liberally flour a cutting board and dump the dough onto the surface, dusting the top again. Cover with plastic and towel again and let it rise for another 2 hours. You can fold or shape your dough to make it a little more compact but you don’t have to.

4. Half an hour before you’re ready to bake, turn oven to 450 degrees and put your pot in to preheat also. I will be using my Le Creuset dish, but a Pyrex bowl covered with an ovenproof plate can also be used.

5. Take off plastic, dump it into the pot with the lid on. No need to oil the pot, the bread will pull in from the sides and won’t stick. After half an hour, take the lid off and bake for another 15 minutes. By baking first with the lid on, steam creates little air holes in the bread that create a lovely texture of the bread.
 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog. I’m so glad my pictures spurred you to try making this bread. How did it turn out? Did you like it?🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Maninas

     /  11 June, 2007

    TO Wandering Chopstics: Hi, thanks for posting the recipe. Unfortunately, I haven’t had much success with the bread, but I’m willing to try again. Could you plesase take a look at the next post giving the verdict on what happened, and then suggest some improvements. Many thanks!

    Like

    Reply
  1. Verdict: No-Knead Bread « Maninas: Food Matters

Leave a Reply

