Creamy Guacamole

This recipe comes with my own very special recommendation – it’s guaranteed to please! I got the recipe of a friend last year, and I’ve been making it pretty regularly ever since! I don’t claim any authenticity – just taste! If anyone has an authentic recipe, I’m more than willing to try it out! Enjoy!

Creamy Guacamole

 

Recipe Source: A friend

Preparation time: 5 minutes

 

Ingredients:

1 medium to large avocado, ripe

1 tbsp yoghurt

lemon juice to taste

a dash of chili powder

a pinch of sugar

salt & pepper to taste

Method:

Choose only ripe avocado, otherwise it will be impossible to mash, and it will not taste very nice. You will know that avocado is ripe, if it is soft to touch. To be on the safe side, buy avocado in advance, and leave it at the room temperature for a day or two.

Cut the avocado in half, and remove the flesh, scooping it out with a teaspoon. I find this is the easiest way to do it.

Put the avocado and the remaining ingredients in a bowl and mash with a fork. Don’t mash it too much, as you are supposed to have some lumps. Adjust the lemon juice, sugar and chili according to taste.

To serve:

1. serve it as a dip at parties, with tortilla chips, strips of warm pita bread or raw vegetables sticks (pepper, carrot, cucumber, celery, etc.). In that case, make sure you make it just before you’re going to put it on the table, as avocado changes colour quickly. It ends up looking brown-ish, and not very attractive, if left out for too long.

Once, I was making a large quantity for a party, and tried making it in a food processor. I made a mistake of processing it for too long, and it turned out soupy, and not very nice. Instead, I suggest it’s better to pulse it a few time, quickly, and to be careful to leave some lumps! Please learn from my mistakes!

2. serve as an accompaniment to fajitas. When I make fajitas, I often make guacamole to go with it. We add a bit of guacamole inside the fajitas. Again, probably not authentic, but very tasty indeed!

3. This dip can be served on its own, with a bit of bread of your choice. It makes a perfect lunch! I use pita bread, any crusty bread; in fact, anything I’ve got at home!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

