What are you kitchen mishaps/misadventures/mini-catastrophes?

We’ve all had our kitchen misadventures, nearing to mini-catastrophes! Recently, I singlehandedly managed to melt a food processor bowl – sideways! When I was drying it, I left it on top of the grill. There’s nothing wrong with that – unless you turn the grill on! Which I did, of couse! I was planning to grill some bacon for brunch, completely oblivious of my innocent food processor bowl, that was just standing there, staring me in the face, probably thinking (if it could think) ‘Youuuuu stuuupid and dangerous woman! Aaaaaaa!!!‘ Meanwhile, as always sensitive to various aromas & smells, I was thinking ‘Wait a sec, this is not how bacon normally smells….’. Yeap, it was a (very) funny whiff coming from the direction of the grill that brought me to my senses. What I saw was my beloved food processor bowl on top of the burning grill, and the little hole in the middle where the cutter goes in, melted – sideways! I cursed loudly, and in many languages! But of course, what’s done is done, and now I can’t make my favourite soups, nor my not-so-recent addiction – hummus!  Serves me right!😦

What are you kitchen mishaps/misadventures/mini-catastrophes?

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. This puts me in mind of the ‘sploding pyrex post: http://deligrackle.blogspot.com/2007/05/better-late-than-never.html

    [wide grin]

    Like

    Reply
  2. Maninas

     /  1 June, 2007

    hahahahaaa that’s really funny, though I bet it wasn’t funny at the time!

    Like

    Reply
  1. Learn from my mistakes! « Maninas: Food Matters

Leave a Reply

