Eating with the Seasons: MARCH

Time for the March announcement of Eating with the Seasons!

Join me!

EATING WITH THE SEASONS

  • Go and find out what’s in season where you live in MARCH.

  • You can choose: fruit, vegetables, nuts, fish, meat.

  • Write a post/text if you are a non-blogger containing a recipe and/or information about your chosen seasonal item. You may post more than one recipe.

  • Post it and email it to me before 20 MARCH, and I’ll post a round-up in a few days. The plan is to go from 15th to 15th in the month (eventually), so we have some time to enjoy the recipes for dishes that are in season. However, last month I was rather late, so I’m giving you a bit more time.

To take part:

Please send an e-mail to maninas [DOT] wordpress [AT] yahoo [DOT[ co [DOT] uk including the following information:

  • your name and country (and town if you wish)

  • your seasonal item

  • name & link to your blog

  • name of your post & link to your post

  • one photograph

  • with ‘Eating with the season’ in the subject line of your e-mail

  • & please link to this post.

Digg This
16 thoughts on “Eating with the Seasons: MARCH

  1. I am from north eastern part of India i.e. Assam and i write on assamese cuisine.I am participating for the first time and I will be glad if people try this tangy dish for a hot noon

  2. Will try to, what with getting out of the season veggies we are spoilt

    About the mustard oil, I don’t know the brands you get there but don’t buy the ones that say “for massage only” :)
    We don’t get too many brands here and then they don’t have the same zing as the ones back home. If you are in UK you might be more lucky with all the bangladeshi shops

  3. NOMI, have a look at my email.

    SANDEEPA, Do try! Seasonal veg is so much tastier!

    I shall try not to buy massage only mustard oil! hahhahaa :D
    I am in the UK. Can you recommend a brand? Ta!

  4. Reading about the discussion on mustard oil, just wanted to mention that it is also an important part of the cuisine of the region I come from ( Assam, in India). In the UK, I use Dabur mustard oil, and I find it at the local Indian grocers’.

    Will try to send in something for the event :-)

  5. DEEBA, Do you mean last month’s event? Yes, you can.

    BEE, Great, I’m looking forward to it.

    SUNITA, Thanks for joining in, Sunita! I did see some mustard oil in the shop today, and remembering what Sandeepa and you said, made sure to read the label properly. And sure enough, it was ‘for external use only’. Thanks for the warning!

  6. Is cabbage in season ? It usually is a winter veggie but where I am, winter is so cold that cabbage wouldn’t have grown in my backyard.
    What to do ?

    Sunita — I just found the Dabur Mustard Oil here too. Before that I used a brand called Tez. Is Dhara still available in India ? Maninas, that was a popular brand when I was in India.

  7. will post & send u soon:-) Seem to be getting everything everyday everywhere these days. but i do get whatever i see in the local market after a “long time” or things start getting incredibly cheaper comparatively.. that shows it will be in season now.

  8. SANDEEPA, if it’s in season where you are, then it’s fine for the event!

    SOMA, thanks! Markets, especially farmers markets, can be a good indicator of what’s in season.
    Here for UK, there are also some good websites about this, e.g. Eat the Seasons, and the BBC Good Food also has a section on seasonal food.

  9. Pingback: Coconut-Mango Jello | Eating Out Loud

  10. Pingback: Like an island or a cloud? « Maninas: Food Matters

  11. Pingback: Round-up: Eating with the Season: MARCH « Maninas: Food Matters

Leave a Reply

